Udhampur (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Udhampur Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Udhampur belongs to the district with the same name and is the second largest city of Jammu. It was named after Raja Udham Singh and is the army headquarters. The population of the constituency is 1,82,778 according to the census of 2011. It falls under Udhampur parliamentary constituency. The present MLA of the constituency is Balwant Singh Mankotia who won the seat by defeating Pawan Kumar Gupta. He managed to get 25259 votes against 22489 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Udhampur assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Udhampur Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 60 Udhampur GEN Balwant Singh Mankotia M JKN 25259 Pawan Kumar Gupta M BJP 22489
2002 60 Udhampur GEN Balwant Singh M JKNPP 24679 Pawan Kumar Gupta M BJP 14727
1996 60 Udhampur GEN Shiv Charan Gupta M BJP 22928 Balak Ram M INC 7463
1987 53 Udhampur GEN Balak Ram M INC 18847 Shiv Charan M BJP 13552
1983 53 Udhampur GEN Balak Ram M INC 12417 Shiv Charan M BJP 5998
1977 53 Udhampur GEN Shiv Charan M IND 9363 Faqir Chand M INC 8763
1972 54 Udhampur GEN Dev Datt M INC 12111 Paras Ram M BJS 7107
1967 54 Udhampur GEN H. Raj M INC 7267 P. Ram M BJS 5993
1962 22 Udhampur GEN Amar Nath Sharma M NC 8003 Paras Ram M PP 7815