Hazaribagh (Jharkhand) Assembly Constituency Elections


Hazaribagh Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The town of Hazirabagh is situated in the Hazaribagh district of Jharkhand. The region had a population of 290,098 people as per 2011 India census. The Hazaribagh assembly constituency falls under parliamentary constituency of Hazaribagh. The seat of MLA has been occupied by the INC since 2005. Saurabh Narayan Singh won the assembly elections of 2009 for the 2nd consecutive time. He was victorious over Deo Dayal of BJP. Singh received 66514 votes over Dayal’s 57227 votes. The word Hazaribagh is formed by combining 2 words, Hazar which means 1000 and Bagh which means garden. Thus it is known as the ‘city of a 1000 gardens’.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Hazaribagh assembly consituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Hazaribagh Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2009 25 Hazaribagh GEN Saurabh Narain Singh M INC 66514 Deo Dayal M BJP 57227
2005 25 Hazaribagh GEN Saurabh Narayan Singh M INC 39431 Braj Kishor Jaiswal M IND 36366