Elections in Andaman and Nicobar Islands 2014


2014 Election Results of Andaman & Nicobar Islands

In 1956, Andaman & Nicobar Islands was formed into a Union Territory. The administration of which is different from other entities’ administration in the country. It has no ceremonial head or legislature. The Lieutenant Governor is the head of government, appointed by the country’s President. He is in-charge of various departments directly supervising the developments in the area. The Lt.Governor is assisted by District Magistrates of the three districts of Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

Andaman & Nicobar Islands Administration

The polling for 16th Lok Sabha Elections in Andaman & Nicobar Islands UT took place on 10th April. Elections conducted in the area is looked after by Election Commission of Andaman & Nicobar Islands headed by Chetan B Sanghi, CEO of Andaman & Nicobar Islands.

Brief Facts on 2014 General Elections in Andaman & Nicobar Islands


Quick facts for Andaman and Nicobar Islands General Elections 2014

Parliamentary Constituencies
Assembly Constituencies NA
Ruling Party Center
Opposition Party Center
Chief Minister U.T.
Governor A. K. Singh
Chief Electoral Officer Chetan B. Sanghi
Address -


No. of Electors Male electors Female electors No. of Electors as %age of Total Electorate of India No. of electors having EPIC (Electoral Photo Identity Card)
257,856 136,356 121,500 0.03% 98.54%


Information about Assembly and Parliamentary 2014 Elections in Andaman & Nicobar Islands


Dates and Schedule of Parliamentary Elections List of Parliamentary Constituencies Campaigning Strategies
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Election History Major Political Parties of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Administration of Andaman and Nicobar Islands
List of Administrators of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Demographics of Andaman and Nicobar Islands Parliamentary Elections Result
candidate list of Andaman and Nicobar Islands


Date and Schedule of 2014 Elections in Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Phase 3A
No of PCs going to poll 1 (PC no. 1)
Issue of Notification 15 Mar 14 (Sat)
Last Date for filing Nominations 22 Mar 14 (Sat)
Scrutiny of Nominations 24 Mar 14 (Mon)
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature 26 Mar 14 (Wed)
Date of Poll 10 Apr 14 (Thu)
Counting of Votes 16 May 14 (Fri)
Date before which the election shall be Completed 28 May 14 (Wed)

Andaman & Nicobar Islands Parliamentary Constituency List

The entire Andaman & Nicobar Islands Union territory is represented by one parliamentary constituency that follows the same name. It was formed in 1977 and has a total of about 2,57,859 voters and about 386 polling stations.
Strategies for Campaigning
No political party has ever conducted any targeted campaigning in Andaman & Nicobar Union Territory till now. The nation’s mood might wear off on this Union Territory.

Election history of Andaman & Nicobar Islands

11 Lok Sabha elections were held in Andaman & Nicobar Islands till now. In that, 9 were won by INC and the rest 2 by BJP. From 1971 Lok Sabha Election to 1998 Lok Sabha Election, INC had won 8 times consecutively. While in 1999 Lok Sabha Election BJP had won in the area, INC came back to power with 2004 Lok Sabha Election victory but again it lost to BJP in 2008 Lok Sabha Election.

List of Major Political Parties in Andaman & Nicobar Islands


Indian National Congress (INC) Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)
Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) Communist Party of India(Marxist) [CPI (M)]


Andaman & Nicobar Islands Administrators List

Andaman & Nicobar Islands were governed by Superintendent of the British since the start of British settlement in the year 1858. However, this title got changed to that of Chief Commissioner in 1872 which remained until Japan acquired the area in 1945. In 1946, Inamul Majid was appointed as the first Governor of India and nominal head of the region. Subsequently, the islands became a part of Indian