Elections in Uttarakhand – 2014 Results

Uttarakhand is one of the newly formed state in India. There are five parliamentary constituencies. General elections will be conducted on these constituencies on 7th May.

About Uttarakhand Elections

The state of Uttarakhand has a unicameral legislature with one house of the State Legislative Assembly called Vidhan Sabha. The assembly of Uttarakhand has a total of 70 members elected directly by the people and 1 member nominated from the community of Anglo Indians. The members of the Uttarakhand state assembly are elected every 5 years. There are a total of 70 constituencies in the State. The Legislative Assembly seat of the State at Dehradun is the capital. The state of Uttarakhand is represented in Indian Parliament by 5 elected members of the Lok Sabha and 3 elected members of the Rajya Sabha that are elected indirectly.
The First Legislative Assembly elections in Uttarakhand were held in the year 2002. For the first election in Uttarakhand, 28 political parties which included national, state and registered parties participated with 927 contestants. The total electorate count was 52, 70,375, out of which 54.34% voted. Since then, elections in Uttarakhand have been regularly held for the Legislative Assembly.
The INC (Indian National Congress) and the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) are the prominent political parties in Uttarakhand. Each of the party has contested elections in Uttarakhand and formed government alternately. The BJP had the seat of power in the year 2007, but was unable retain its position after the 3rd assembly elections in Uttarakhand in the year 2012.
Uttrakhand Kranti Dal is among the most important region parties of the State. The UKD party had won 3 constituency seats in the 2007 assembly elections of Uttarakhand and one seat in the 2012 elections. In the year 2007, it sided with BJP to form the Government as none of the two political parties had a majority. Major Geneal B C Khanduri, candidate of the BJP was the Chief Minister of Uttarakhand in 2007.
The present CM of Uttarakahnd is Mr. Harish Rawat who is also a former Union Minister. Rawat sworn in as the chief minister of the State after former CM Vijay Bahuguna of the INC resigned. Shri Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna of the INC, father of Vijay Bahuguna was the former CM of Uttar Pradesh and a significant politician of Uttar Pradesh.

Uttrakhand Bye Elections assembly 2014 Results


S. No AC name Name of Winner
1 Doiwala Hira Singh Bist
2 Dharchula Harish Chandra Singh Rawat
3 Someshwara(SC) Rekha Arya


Uttarakhand General Elections – 2014

The date and schedule for the General Elections in Uttarakhand are as below:

Phase 8
No of PCs going to poll 5 (PC no. 1 to 5)
Issue of Notification 12 Apr 14 (Sat)
Last Date for filing Nominations 19 Apr 14 (Sat)
Scrutiny of Nominations 21 Apr 14 ( Mon)
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature 23 Apr 14 (Wed)
Date of Poll 07 May 14 (Wed)
Counting of Votes 16 May 14 (Fri)
Date before which the election shall be Completed 28 May 14 (Wed)


Political Parties of the state

The main political parties in the state are :

  • The Bharatiya Janata Party
  • The Indian National congress
  • The Bahujan Samaj Party
  • Uttarakhand Kranti Dal

    Administration Process

    The administration process of the state is carried out by the state government. It consists of chief minister and his council of ministers. They run different departments like revenue, finance, IT, etc. The governor of the state is appointed by president of India and his term consists of five years.

    List of Uttarakhand Chief Ministers


    Sl. No. Uttarakhand Chief Ministers From To Party
    1 Harish Rawat Feb 1, 2014 Present INC
    2 Vijay Bahuguna Mar 13, 2012 Jan 31, 2014 INC
    3 B. C. Khanduri Sep 11, 2011 Mar 13, 2012 BJP
    4 Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank Jun 24, 2009 Sep 10, 2011 BJP
    5 B. C. Khanduri Mar 8, 2007 Jun 23, 2009 BJP
    6 N. D. Tiwari Mar 2, 2002 Mar 7, 2007 INC
    7 Bhagat Singh Koshiyari Oct 30, 2001 Mar 1, 2002 BJP
    8 Nityanand Swami Nov 9, 2000 Oct 29, 2001 BJP


    History of Lok Sabha General Elections


    Year of General Elections Uttarakhand Lok Sabha Winning Party/Coalition
    1951 First Lok Sabha -
    1957 Second Lok Sabha -
    1962 Third Lok Sabha -
    1967 Fourth Lok Sabha -
    1971 Fifth Lok Sabha -
    1977 Sixth Lok Sabha -
    1980 Seventh Lok Sabha -
    1984 Eighth Lok Sabha -
    1989 Ninth Lok Sabha -
    1991 Tenth Lok Sabha -
    1996 Eleventh Lok Sabha -
    1998 Twelfth Lok Sabha
    1999 Thirteenth Lok Sabha -
    2004 Fourteenth Lok Sabha BJP (won 3 seats out of 5 seats)
    2009 Fifteenth Lok Sabha INC (as part of United Progressive Alliance)


    List of Governors of Uttarakhand


    Sl. No. Governors of Uttarakhand From To
    1 Aziz Qureshi Apr 28, 2012 Present
    2 Margaret Alva Jul 19, 2009 Apr 28, 2012
    3 Banwari Lal Joshi Oct 29, 2007 Jul 18, 2009
    4 Sudershan Agarwal Jan 8, 2003 Oct 22, 2007
    5 Surjit Singh Barnala Nov 9, 2000 Jan 8, 2003

    List of winner/runnerup candidates of all parliamentary constituencies of Uttarakhand with their symbol and party name with thier votes by each candidate.

    Constituency Status Name Party Vote
    Almora Winner Ajay Tamta BJP 348186
    Runner up Pradeep Tamta INC 252496
    Garhwal Winner B.C. Khanduri BJP 405690
    Runner up Dr. Harak Singh Rawat INC 221164
    Tehri Garhwal Winner Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah BJP 446733
    Runner up Saket Bahuguna INC 254230
    Hardwar Winner Ramesh Pokhriyal BJP 592320
    Runner up Renuka Rawat INC 414498
    Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar Winner Bhagat S. Koshyari BJP 636769
    Runner up K.C.Singh Baba INC 352052


    History of State Assembly Election


    Year of Election Vidhan Sabha Winning Party Chief Minister
    2000 not yet created BJP Shri Nityanand Swami
    2001 not yet created BJP Shri Bhagat Singh Koshiyari
    2002 First INC Shri Narayan Dutt Tiwari
    2007 Second BJP Maj General B C Khanduri
    2009 Second BJP Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank
    2011 Second BJP Maj General B C Khanduri
    2012 Third INC Vijay Bahuguna
    2014 Third INC Harish Rawat


    Members of Rajya Sabha from Uttarakhand


    Name Party Term Name Party Term
    Shri Mahendra Singh Mahra Indian National Congress 03/04/2012 to 02/04/2018 Shri Tarun Vijay Bharatiya Janata Party 05/07/2010 to 04/07/2016