Election Commission of Karnataka

India is a democratic country where government is formed through public voting. Elections are held so that people will get a chance to vote and select the leaders of their choice. So it becomes necessary to form a body which can take care of this responsibility. State Election Commission was formed under the provisions of 73rd and 74th Amendments of the Constitution to prepare the electoral rolls for the governing bodies and conduct elections to Panchayats and Municipalities. State Election Commissioner of Karnataka is empowered with the responsibility to supervise and conduct safe and unbiased elections in the state.

History of Karnataka Election Commission

Karnataka State Election Commission which is an independent body was formed in 1993 to conduct free and fair elections in the state. It even has the power to declare the seat vacant if the members fail to go with the constitutional rules. State Election Commission of Karnataka has powers to conduct elections in the rural areas that come under the Panchayati Raj and in the urban areas which come under the Municipalities.

Chief Electoral Commissioner of Karnataka

Shri. Anil Kumar Jha is the Chief Electoral Commissioner of Karnataka.

Officers Appointed by Election Commission of Rajasthan

The State election commission consists of many officers who are entrusted to conduct the duties of the state election commission with diligence. The officers currently holding posts in Karnataka State election commission are as follows:

Chief Electoral Officer: Anil Kumar Jha
Officer on Special Duty: Pankaj Kumar Pandey
Joint Chief Electoral Officer: Shamaiah T
Special Officer(Training): S Ziyaullah
Deputy Chief Electoral Officer: P T Kulkarni
Special Officer(Technical): Ramesh K N

Contact information and Address:

The Chief Electoral Officer,
Nirvachana Nilaya,
Maharani’s College Circle,
Sheshadri Road, Bangalore- 560001
Phone:1950 (Toll-free), 080-22242042