Indian National Congress|Indian National Congress Party|INC Party Symbol|Indian National Congress Party(INC)|List of Congress Leaders|Achievements of the Congress Party|Indian National Congress(INC)Indian National Congress


About the Indian National Congress Party

Indian National Congress party was found in 1885 during the time of British rule. It is popularly known as Congress. It is the oldest party of our country and can be said as one of the powerful party of India. It believes in Gandhian ideologies. The opponent of the party is BJP which concentrates on the cultural and religious ideologies of the country.

Leader like Dadabhai Naoroji, Dinshaw Wacha, Womesh Chandra Banerjee, M G Ranade, William Wederbun and Monumohun Ghose formed the party Indian National Congress under the leadership of A O Hume to fight against the British rule. The party got the support of millions of people as its main agenda was to release the country from the hands of British. Indian National Congress party became the sole hope of the people to fight for their freedom and to bring social reforms in the society. Freedom struggle in the path of non violence started under the leadership of Mahatma Gandhi. Many of the Congress leaders including Abul Kalam Azad, Jawaharlal Nehru, Jivatram Kripalani, Jayaprakash NarayanMaulana Rajendra Prasad, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel also joined him. By the end of the British rule, Congress emerged as a powerful political party. Immediately after Independence, when Gandhi was shot dead, Jawaharlal Nehru was made the head of the party. Congress faced issue in 1967 when Indira Gandhi faced opposition and criticism from majority of the leaders of the party. Due to the spilt, Indira Gandhi formed a separate party which was later declared as the original Congress party by the Election Commission. Party lost the election to the Janata Party after she took some wrong steps in her political career.

The present president of the party is Sonia Gandhi and the vice president post is acquired by Rahul Gandhi. Congress formed the government in 2009 by forming an alliance with other parties under the name of United Progressive Alliance. The present prime minister of India is Dr. Manmohan Singh.

Party Symbol

The symbol of the Indian national Congress Party as accepted by the election Commission is right hand. This symbol was accepted by Indira Gandhi when she formed a new party after getting separated from the old Congress party. Hand symbolizes strength and unity. Every state has a committee called as Pradesh committee that is formed at the state level. All the committees together form the All India Congress Committee.

List of Congress Leaders.

The leaders of Congress who are the part of the working committee are:

  • Sonia Gandhi: Sonia Gandhi is the president of the Indian National Congress Party after her husband Rajiv Gandhi. She came to the post in 1998. She is also the head of the advisory committee that assists prime minister in his governance. She has served the term of party president for the longest time. She has been the leader of opposition when NDA came to power.
  • Manmohan Singh: Mannohan Singh is the current prime minister of India. He is serving his term for the second time. In his both terms, he has acts and schemes like Right to Information Act, Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, Rural Health Mission and lastly the Food Security Bill.
  • Sushil Kumar Shinde: He is the member of the working committee of Congress. He is the minister of Home Affairs and leader in Lok Sabha.
  • Rahul Gandhi: He is currently the vice president of the party and the president of Indian Youth Congress and National Students Union Of India. He is chosen as the prime ministerial candidate by his party.
  • A K Antony: A K Anotny is the Defence Minister of the present government.
  • Digvijay Singh: Digvijay Singh is one of the prominent leaders of the party and was the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh too.


Achievements of the Congress Party

There are a number of achievements for the credit of Congress Party.

  • Congress has formed different wings for different people. It has formed National Students Union of India for students, to help women it has formed All India Mahila Congress, to solve the problems of the youth of the country, it has formed Youth Congress and to solve the problems of the laborers it has formed the Indian National Trade Union Congress.
    During both terms, UPA government has made policies like Rural Health Mission, Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme. It believes in the Gandhian principle for the upliftment of all the sections of the society.
  • UPA government has maintained good relation with countries like USA and other member of SAARC. Congress government has also been part of national meets like World Trade Organization, G20 Industrial Summit, East Asia Summit, United Nations, International Monetary Funds and UN Security Council.
  • Right to Information Act was formed in 2011 where any individual can ask for the information related to government bodies. Congress even passed the Lokayukta Bill and the Lokpal Bill, Whistle Blowers Protection Bill, Benami Transaction Prohibition Bill, Public Procurement Bill and some Bills for the people.


Contact Details

Official Website of INC:
Head-Office Address of INC: 24, Akbar Road, New Delhi – 110011, India
Contact Numbers
PHONE: 91-11-23019080
FAX: 91-11-23017047
Email id: [email protected]