Inderwal (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Inderwal Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The tehsil of Inderwal is situated in the Kishtwar district of Jammu & Kashmir. The Inderwal assembly constituency is a part of parliamentary constituency of Udhampur. The Bharatiya Janta Party fielded its candidate from the constituency for the first time in 2008 assembly elections. The seat of MLA has been occupied by the INC since 2002. Ghulam Muhammad Saroori won the 2008 assembly elections for the 2nd consecutive time and is the current MLA. He was victorious over Shakti Raj of the BJP by a huge margin. Saroori received 22684 votes over Raj’s 12269 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Inderwal assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Inderwal Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 52 Inderwal GEN Ghulam Mohd Saroori M JKN 22684 Shakti Raj M BJP 12269
2002 52 Inderwal GEN Gulam Mohammad M INC 24551 Jalal-Ud-Din M JKN 5667
1996 52 Inderwal GEN Qazi Jalal-Ud-Din M JKN 11097 Gh. Mohd. Saroree M IND 10002
1987 46 Inderwal GEN Shareef Naiz M INC 27069 Sheikh Ghulam Mohd M IND 1045
1983 46 Inderwal GEN Sheikh Ghulam Mohamad M JKN 10367 Mohd. Sharief M INC 8104
1977 46 Inderwal GEN Ghulam Mohd Sheikh M JKN 5296 Abdul Ghani Goni M JNP 2530
1972 46 Inderwal GEN Kh. Abdul Gani Goni M INC 9721 Abdul Rashid M JMI 1412
1967 46 Inderwal GEN A. G. Goni M INC 5993 L. Mallik M JKN 3235