Lok Sabha election results of Anantnag



2014 candidate list of Anantnag constituency


Anantnag, Constituency No -(3)
Election Date 24/04/2014
Result Date 16/05/2014
Election Symbol Political Party Candidate Name
Bahujan Samaj Party BSP Mohammad Sharif
All India Forward Bloc AIFB Asif Jeelani
app AAP Dr. Tanvir Maqbool Dar
Bharatiya Janata Party BJP Mushtaq Ahmad Malik
IND Tanveer Hussain Khan
IND Abdul Ahad Mir
United Goans Democratic Party JKNPP Syed Abid Ahmad Shah
sp SP Gh. Nabi Shah
JKN Mirza Mehboob Beg
JKPDP Mehbooba Mufti
All Jammu and Kashmir Republican Party Mohammad Yaqoob Rather
ASP Mohd Yousif Ganie


The historically important Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency is among the 6 Parliamentary constituencies in the northern state of Jammu and Kashmir.Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency is spread across 4 districts: Shopian, Kulgam, Pulwama and Anantnag. According to Election Commission of India 2009 reports the total number of electorates in the Parliamentary constituency of Anantnag (constituency no. 3) was 1,176,223 of which 611,571 are males and 564,652 are females. There are sixteen Vidhan Sabha segments in the constituency of Anantnag. It is a largely contested constituency in the State, as a crucial struggle for supremacy has erupted between the JKNC (Jammu and Kashmir National Conference) and the Jammu and Kashmir People’s Democratic Party. This constituency seat remained with the INC in its composite years. The Anantnag city and municipality of is the administrative headquarters of the district under the same name. The constituency depends on a rich and expansive tourism sector, due to the lush valleys and the Himalayas that decorate the region. Fruits such as apple and agricultural crops such as rice and wheat are also grown in this constituency.


Important dates of Anantnag 2014 General Elections


Phase of General Election Phase-6
Issue of Notification 29/03/2014
Last Date for filing Nominations 05/04/14
Scrutiny of Nominations 07/04/14
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature 09/04/14
Date of Poll 24/04/2014
Counting of Votes 16/05/2014
Date before which the election shall be completed 28/05/2014


Winner/Current and runner up MPs list of Anantnag Parliamentary Constituencies


Year PC No. PC Name Category Winner Sex Party Vote Runner Up Sex Party Vote
2014 3 Anantnag GEN N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A
2009 3 Anantnag GEN Beg,(Dr.) Mirza Mehboob M JKN 148317 Peer Mohd Hussain M JKPDP 143093
2004 3 Anantnag GEN Mehbooba Mufti F JKPDP 74436 Beg,(Dr.) Mirza Mehboob M JKN 35498
1999 3 Anantnag GEN Ali Mohd Naik M JKN 38745 Mufti Mohd. Syeed M IND 25253
1998 3 Anantnag GEN Mufti Mohd. Sayeed M INC 120444 Mohd. Yusuf Teng M JKN 68444
1996 3 Anantnag GEN Mohd. Maqbool M JD 117221 Taj Mohi-Ud-Din M INC 59137
1989 3 Anantnag GEN P.L.Handoo M JKN 36055 Abdul Rashid Khan M IND 186
1984 3 Anantnag GEN Akbar Jahan Begum F JKN 240973 Peer Hussan-Ud-Din M INC 158963
1980 3 Anantnag GEN Gh. Rasool Kochak M JKN 179020 Ali Mohd. Naik M IND 95050
1977 3 Anantnag GEN Dr. Mohd. Shafi Qureshi M INC 79742 Ab. Razak Mir M IND 71411
1971 3 Anantnag GEN Dr. Mohd. Shafi Qureshi M INC 150827 Peep Gulam Nabi Shah M IND 90434
1967 3 Anantnag GEN M.S. Qureshi M INC Uncontested


Facts about Anantnag constituencies sitting MP


Name of MP Mirza Mehboob Beg
Age 64
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-09 to In office
Political Party Jammu and Kashmir National Conference
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Graduate
Activities of Mirza Mehboob Beg in 15th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 55
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 26
Attendance 84%


Assembly Constituency list in Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency


Names of Assembly Constituencies
Tral Shopian Devsar Pampore
Noorabad Doru Pahalgam Wachi
Pulwama Kulgam Kokernag Bijbehara
Rajpura Hom Shali Bug Shangus Anantnag