Kishtwar (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Kishtwar Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The municipality of Kishtwar is situated in the district under the same name in Jammu & Kashmir. The region was earlier called as Kashthavata. As of 2011 India census,it had a population of 34,982 people. The Kishtwar assembly constituency is a part of parliamentary constituency of Udhampur. The seat of MLA has been occupied by JKNC since 1987. Sajjad Ahmad Kichloo, candidate of JKNC won the assembly elections of 2008 and is the current MLA. He was victorious over Sunil Kumar of BJP. Kichloo received 19248 votes over Kumar’s 16783 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Kishtwar assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Kishtwar Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 51 Kishtwar GEN Sajjad Ahmad Kichloo M JKN 19248 Sunil Kumar M BJP 16783
2002 51 Kishtwar GEN Sajjad Hussain M JKN 16725 Gulam Haider Sheikh M INC 15062
1996 51 Kishtwar GEN Bashir Ahmed Kichloo M JKN 17889 Rajinder Singh M BJP 10900
1987 45 Kishtwar GEN Bashir Ahmed Kichloo M JKN 18044 Man Mohan M BJP 3309
1983 45 Kishtwar GEN Ghulam Hussain Arman M INC 12213 Bashir Ahmad Kichloo M JKN 9004
1977 45 Kishtwar GEN Bashir Ahmed Kichloo M JKN 3910 Ghulam Hussain Arman M JNP 3385
1972 45 Kishtwar GEN Pir Nizam Ud Din M INC 9283 Ghulam Hussain Arman M IND 3796
1967 45 Kishtwar GEN G. Mustafa M INC 7726 G. Nabi M IND 3459
1962 28 Kishtwar GEN Syed Mir Badshah M NC 14988 Sewa Ram M PP 4752