Lok Sabha election results of Jammu


2014 candidate list of Jammu constituency


Jammu, Constituency No -(6)
Election Date 10/04/2014
Result Date 16/05/2014
Election Symbol Political Party Candidate Name
app AAP Harbans Lal Bhagat
Bharatiya Janata Party BJP Jugal Kishore Sharma
Indian National Congress INC Madan Lal Sharma


The Udhampur Parliamentary constituency covers over 6 districts out of the 22 which make up the Jammu and Kashmir State. Udhampur is among the 6 Lok Sabha constituencies in the State and the Lok Sabha Constituency of Udhampur (constituency no. 5) consists of 1,363,060 numbers of electorates, out of which 716,625 are males and 646,435 are from female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggests. In Udhampur, unlike other constituencies of the State, the regional parties have not been successful in winning a single Lok Sabha election and only the 2 pivotal national political parties have been successful. The seat of MP has been a primary bastion of the INC, although the BJP won 3 Lok Sabha sessions during 1996-1999. Ch. Lal Singh of the INC has been a famous leader in the Udhampur constituency, having won in the year 2004 and 2009 Lok Sabha elections. This constituency is spread over 6 districts of Udhampur, Reasi, Doda, Kathua, Ramban and Kishtwar. 17 assembly segments make up the constituency of Udhampur, out of which Ramban, Chenani and Hira Nagar are reserved for candidates of Scheduled Caste. 5 assembly segments cover the district of Kathua and 2 segments each spread over the districts of Doda, Ramban and Kishtwar; also, 3 segments each cover the districts of Reasi and Udhampur.




Important dates of Jammu 2014 General Elections


Phase of General Election Phase-3
Issue of Notification 15/03/2014
Last Date for filing Nominations 22/03/2014
Scrutiny of Nominations 24/03/2014
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature 26/03/2014
Date of Poll 10/04/2014
Counting of Votes 16/05/2014
Date before which the election shall be completed 28/05/2014


Winner/Current and runner up MPs list of Jammu Parliamentary Constituencies


Year PC No. PC Name Category Winner Sex Party Vote Runner Up Sex Party Vote
2014 6 Jammu GEN N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A
2009 6 Jammu GEN Shri Madan Lal Sharma M INC 382305 Lila Karan Sharma M BJP 260932
2004 6 Jammu GEN Shri. Madan Lal Sharma M INC 319994 Dr. Nirmal Singh M BJP 302426
2002 By Polls Jammu GEN Chowdhary Talib Hussain M JKN 253891 Dr.Nirmal Singh M BJP 198402
1999 6 Jammu GEN Vishno Datt Sharma M BJP 289412 Rajinder Singh Chib M JKN 147393
1998 6 Jammu GEN Vaid Vishno Dutt M BJP 336472 Janak Raj Gupta M JKN 208571
1996 6 Jammu GEN Mangat Ram Sharma M INC 194228 Vaid Vishno Dutt M BJP 147495
1989 6 Jammu GEN Janak Rai Gupta M INC 239701 Rajinder Singh Chib M JD 218006
1984 6 Jammu GEN Janak Raj Gupta M INC 262796 Shabir Ahmed Salaria M JKN 142604
1980 6 Jammu GEN Girdhari Lal Dogra M INC(I) 249760 Thakur Baldev Singh M JKN 115503
1977 6 Jammu GEN Thakur Baldev Singh M IND 153837 Balraj Puri M JKN 125898
1971 6 Jammu GEN Inderjit Malhotra M INC 169009 Abdul Rehman M BJS 84213
1967 6 Jammu GEN I.J. Malhotra M INC 139036 A. Rehman M BJS 80868


Facts about Jammu constituencies sitting MP


Name of MP Madan Lal Sharma
Age 61
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-09 to In office
Political Party Indian National Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Inter/ Higher Secondary
Activities of Madan Lal Sharma in 15th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 20
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 79
Attendance 92%


Assembly Constituency list in Jammu Parliamentary Constituency


Names of Assembly Constituencies
Samba (SC) R S Pura Darhal
Vijay Pur Suchet Garh Rajauri
Nagrota Marh Kala Kote
Gandhi Nagar Raipur Domana Surankote
Jammu East Akhnoor Mendhar
Jammu West Chhamb (SC) Poonch-Haveli
Bishnah Naushehra