Lok Sabha election results of Ladakh


2014 candidate list of Ladakh constituency


Ladakh, Constituency No -(4)
Election Date 07/05/2014
Result Date 16/05/2014
Election Symbol Political Party Candidate Name
Bharatiya Janata Party BJP Thupstan Chhewang
Indian National Congress INC Tsering Samphel
IND Syed Mohd Kazim
IND Ghulam Raza



The Ladakh Lok Sabha constituency is among 6 Parliamentary constituencies in the State of Jammu and Kashmir holds a politically important role in the history of India. This constituency spreads over the district of Kargil in the state which saw the Kargil War between India and Pakistan in the year 1999.The Parliamentary constituency of Ladakh (constituency no. 4) has a total of 152,491 electorates, out of which 77,943 are males and 74,548 are females according to Election Commission of India 2009 data. Located close to the Line of Control (LoC) in Jammu and Kashmir, the Kargil War has made the constituency politically unstable and volatile and thus this parliamentary constituency holds strong significance in each Lok Sabha election. The Ladakh Lok Sabha constituency, besides comprising of the district of Kargil, also covers the Leh district. Both these districts are near the LoC in the State of Jammu and Kashmir. This constituency spreads over 4 assembly segments, which cover the two districts of Ladakh and Leh. While the Nubra and Leh assembly segments are located in the District of Leh, the 2 assembly segments of Kargil and Zanskar are located in the district of Kargil. Kargil and Leh districts are 2 of the least populated districts in the state Jammu and Kashmir, with populations of 143,388 and 147,104, respectively. The economic backbone of the district is due to a rich and expansive tourism sector, due to the presence of the Himalayan ranges and abundant beauty.



Important dates of Ladakh 2014 General Elections


Phase of General Election Phase-8
Issue of Notification 12/04/14
Last Date for filing Nominations 19/04/2014
Scrutiny of Nominations 21/04/2014
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature 23/04/2014
Date of Poll 07/05/2014
Counting of Votes 16/05/2014
Date before which the election shall be completed 28/05/2014


Winner/Current and runner up MPs list of Ladakh Parliamentary Constituencies


Year PC No. PC Name Category Winner Sex Party Vote Runner Up Sex Party Vote
2014 4 Ladakh (ST) N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A
2009 4 Ladakh (ST) Hassan Khan M IND 32701 Phuntsog Namgyal M INC 29017
2004 4 Ladakh GEN Thupstan Chhewang M IND 66839 Hassan Khan M JKN 41126
1999 4 Ladakh GEN Hassan Khan M JKN 52187 Thupstan Chhewang M INC 50097
1998 4 Ladakh GEN Syed Hussain M JKN 62432 Phuntsog Namgyal M INC 31875
1996 4 Ladakh GEN Phuntsog Namgyal M INC 54592 Qamar Ali Akhoon M IND 44457
1989 4 Ladakh GEN Mohd. Hassan M IND 45151 Phuntsong Namgyal M INC 40612
1984 4 Ladakh GEN Phuntsog Namgyal M INC 33037 Qamar Ali M JKN 25060
1980 4 Ladakh GEN Phuntsog Namgyal M IND 20314 Kacho Habib Ullah Khan M JKN 14262
1977 4 Ladakh GEN Parvati Devi F INC 23130 Mohammad Ali Alias Ali Kargil M IND 20253
1971 4 Ladakh GEN Kushok Bakula M INC 20783 Sonam Wahgdus M IND 16726
1967 4 Ladakh GEN Kushok Bakula M INC Uncontested


Facts about Ladakh constituencies sitting MP


Name of MP Hassan Khan
Age 74
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-09 to In office
Political Party Independent
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Graduate
Activities of Hassan Khan in 15th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 16
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 53
Attendance 91%


Assembly Constituency list in Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency


Names of Assembly Constituencies
Nubra Kargil Zanskar