Lok Sabha election results of Srinagar


2014 candidate list of Srinagar constituency


Srinagar, Constituency No -(2)
Election Date 30/04/2014
Result Date 16/05/2014
Election Symbol Political Party Candidate Name
app AAP Dr Raja Muzaffar Bhat
Bharatiya Janata Party BJP Fayaz Ahmad Bhat
IND Aga Syed Mohsin
IND Bashir Mohd Reshi
IND Chetan Sharma
IND Rabia Altaf
IND Riyaz Ahmad Wani
IND Abdul Rashid Tantray
IND Mohammad Shafi Guroo
IND Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh
United Goans Democratic Party JKNPP Mohammad Maqbool Malik
JKPDP Tariq Hameed Karra
JKN Farooq Abdullah
ABML(S) Mushtaq Shamim


The Parliamentary constituency of Srinagar in Jammu and Kashmir spreads over the 3 districts of Budgam, Ganderbal and Srinagar. It is among the 6 parliamentary constituencies that belong to this Indian state. 1,106,729 is the total electorate count in the Lok Sabha Constituency of Srinagar (constituency no. 2). Out of these 576,035 electorates are males and the remaining 530,694 are females as the Election commission of India 2009 data suggest. This constituency has played a vital role in Indian politics as the capital of the state and the seat of power belongs to this constituency, besides being politically highly volatile. A bastion of the political party of Jammu and Kashmir National Conference, Srinagar comprises 15 assembly segments. It was from the Lok Sabha constituency of Srinagar that the current Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir, Omar Abdullah, was elected the MP 3 consecutive times (1998-2004). After him, the seat was acquired by his father, Mr. Farooq Abdullah.




Important dates of Srinagar 2014 General Elections


Phase of General Election Phase-7
Issue of Notification 02/04/14
Last Date for filing Nominations 09/04/14
Scrutiny of Nominations 10/04/14
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature 12/04/14
Date of Poll 30/04/2014
Counting of Votes 16/05/2014
Date before which the election shall be completed 28/05/2014


Winner/Current and runner up MPs list of Srinagar Parliamentary Constituencies


Year PC No. PC Name Category Winner Sex Party Vote Runner Up Sex Party Vote
2014 2 Srinagar GEN N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A
2009 2 Srinagar GEN Abdullah,Dr. Farooq M JKN 147035 Iftikhar Hussain Ansari M JKPDP 116793
2004 2 Srinagar GEN Omar Abdullah M JKN 98422 Advocate Ghulam Nabi Lone M JKPDP 75263
1999 2 Srinagar GEN Omer Abdullah M JKN 55542 Mebooba Mufti M IND 18683
1998 2 Srinagar GEN Omar Abdullah M JKN 144609 Aga Syed Mohdi M INC 73770
1996 2 Srinagar GEN Ghulam Mohammad Mir M INC 55503 Farooq Ahmad Anderabi M JD 53904
1989 2 Srinagar GEN Mohammad Shafi Bhat M JKN Uncontested
1984 2 Srinagar GEN Abdul Rashid Kabuli M JKN 367249 Muzaffer Ahmed Shah M IND 80972
1980 2 Srinagar GEN Farooq Abdullah M JKN Uncontested
1977 2 Srinagar GEN Akbar Jahan Begam M JKN 210072 Molvi Iftikhar Hussain Ansari M IND 87431
1971 2 Srinagar GEN Shamim Ahmad Shamim M IND 128948 Bakhshi Gulam Mohd M INC 71140
1967 2 Srinagar GEN B.G. Mohamad M JKN 59415 A.M. Tariq M INC 50179


Facts about Srinagar constituencies sitting MP


Name of MP Farooq Abdullah
Age 76
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-09 to In office
Political Party Jammu and Kashmir National Conference
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Graduate
Activities of Farooq Abdullah in 15th Lok Sabha
Debates participated N/A
Private member bills passed N/A
Questions asked N/A
Attendance N/A


Assembly Constituency list in Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency


Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kangan Eidgah Sonawar
Ganderbal Khaniyar Batamaloo
Hazratbal Habba Kadal Chadoora
Zadibal Amira Kadal Badgam
Beerwah Khan Saheb Chrar Sharief