Lok Sabha election results of Udhampur


2014 candidate list of Udhampur constituency


Udhampur, Constituency No -(5)
Election Date 17/04/2014
Result Date 16/05/2014
Election Symbol Political Party Candidate Name
Bahujan Samaj Party BSP Dharam Pal Balgotra
Bharatiya Janata Party BJP Dr. Jitendra Singh
Indian National Congress INC Ghulam Nabi Azad
IND Anil Kumar Gupta
IND Anil Khajuria
IND Bansi Lal
IND Nazakat Hussain
United Goans Democratic Party JKNPP Prof. Bhim Singh
sp SP Smt. Amrit Barsha
JKPDP Mohd Arshad Malik
JMBP Jagdish Kumar
AJKMP Sham Lal
BHBP Girdhari Lal


The Udhampur Parliamentary constituency covers over 6 districts out of the 22 which make up the Jammu and Kashmir State. Udhampur is among the 6 Lok Sabha constituencies in the State and the Lok Sabha Constituency of Udhampur (constituency no. 5) consists of 1,363,060 numbers of electorates, out of which 716,625 are males and 646,435 are from female category as the Election commission of India 2009 reports suggests. In Udhampur, unlike other constituencies of the State, the regional parties have not been successful in winning a single Lok Sabha election and only the 2 pivotal national political parties have been successful. The seat of MP has been a primary bastion of the INC, although the BJP won 3 Lok Sabha sessions during 1996-1999. Ch. Lal Singh of the INC has been a famous leader in the Udhampur constituency, having won in the year 2004 and 2009 Lok Sabha elections. This constituency is spread over 6 districts of Udhampur, Reasi, Doda, Kathua, Ramban and Kishtwar. 17 assembly segments make up the constituency of Udhampur, out of which Ramban, Chenani and Hira Nagar are reserved for candidates of Scheduled Caste. 5 assembly segments cover the district of Kathua and 2 segments each spread over the districts of Doda, Ramban and Kishtwar; also, 3 segments each cover the districts of Reasi and Udhampur.




Important dates of Udhampur 2014 General Elections


Phase of General Election Phase-5
Issue of Notification 19/03/2014
Last Date for filing Nominations 26/03/2014
Scrutiny of Nominations 27/03/2014
Last date for withdrawal of Candidature 29/03/2014
Date of Poll 17/04/2014
Counting of Votes 16/05/2014
Date before which the election shall be completed 28/05/2014


Winner/Current and runner up MPs list of Udhampur Parliamentary Constituencies


Year PC No. PC Name Category Winner Sex Party Vote Runner Up Sex Party Vote
2014 5 Udhampur GEN N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A N.A
2009 5 Udhampur GEN Ch. Lal Singh M INC 231853 Dr. Nirmal Singh M BJP 218459
2004 5 Udhampur GEN Ch. Lal Singh M INC 240872 Prof. Chaman Lal Gupta M BJP 193697
1999 5 Udhampur GEN Prof. Chaman Lal Gupta M BJP 194678 Jagjiwan Lal M JKN 76371
1998 5 Udhampur GEN Prof. Chaman Lal Gupta M BJP 250813 Rajinder Singh Chib M JKN 169449
1996 5 Udhampur GEN Prof. Chaman Lal Gupta M BJP 166206 Janak Raj Gupta M INC 96151
1989 5 Udhampur GEN Dharam Paul M INC 127161 Abdul Rehman M JD 96351
1988 By Polls Udhampur GEN Mohd. A. Khan M INC 133893 B.Singh M JPP 131517
1984 5 Udhampur GEN Girdhari Lal Dogra M INC 206639 Bhim Singh M JPP 95149
1980 5 Udhampur GEN Dr. Karan Singh M INC(U) 176757 Devi Das Thakur F JKN 121328
1977 5 Udhampur GEN Dr. Karan Singh M INC 130272 Om Parkash Saraf M BLD 71316
1971 5 Udhampur GEN Dr. Karan Singh M INC 125890 Baldev Singh M BJS 53303
1967 5 Udhampur GEN G.S. Brigadier M INC 134684 B. Singh M BJS 77806
1967 By Polls Udhampur GEN Dr. K.Singh M INC 257329 D.Dass M IND 8064


Facts about Udhampur constituencies sitting MP


Name of MP Chaudhary Lal Singh
Age 54
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-09 to In office
Political Party Indian National Congress
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Graduate
Activities of Chaudhary Lal Singh in 15th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 82
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 257
Attendance 84%


Assembly Constituency list in Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency


Names of Assembly Constituencies
Kishtwar Gulab Garh Bani
Inderwal Reasi Basohli
Doda Gool-Arnas Kathua
Bhaderwah Udhampur Billawar
Ramban Chenani Hira Nagar
Banihal Ram Nagar