Election Commission of Meghalaya

In the beginning the whole part of the North – eastern India came under the control of Assam. Later it was divided into many states. Meghalaya was one of the states that were formed by the division of Assam. The main residents of Meghalaya are tribal and immigrant Bengalis. Meghalaya too has a democratic form of governance. In 1972, Meghalaya was declared into a state with a Legislative Assembly having 60 members.

History of Meghalaya Election Commission

In the year 1970, Meghalaya was declared as a semi- autonomous state as it was formed by signing a treaty with British people. Later in 1972, it was declared as a fully autonomous state. Due to the 73rd and 74th Amendment of Constitution of India, an independent Election Commission was included in the administration of the state so as to have an independent body which can carry out fair and free elections.

Chief Electoral Commissioner of Meghalaya

The current Chief Electoral Officer of Meghalaya is Shri Prashant Kumar Naik who was an IAS officer of 1989 batch. He also holds a Master’s degree in Geology.

Officers Appointed By Election Commission of Meghalaya

The State Election Commission consists of many officers, who are entrusted to conduct the election peacefully and fairly. These are as follows:
Chief Electoral Officer: Shri P. Naik
Addl. Chief Electoral Officer: Shri B. Dhar
Asst. Chief Electoral Officer: Shri A. S. Mawkhiew
DEO, West Jaintia Hills: Shri P. S. Dkhar
DEO, East Jaintia Hills: Shri Walpeelter Roy Lyngdoh
DEO, East Khasi Hills: Shri Sanjay Goyal
DEO, West Khasi Hills: Shri S. Kharlyngdoh
DEO, South West Khasi Hills: Shri A. Mawlong
DEO, Ri-Bhoi: Smt I. Mawlong
DEO, East Garo Hills: Shri Vijay Kr. Mantri
DEO, North Garo Hills: Shri W. L. Khyllep
DEO, West Garo Hills: Smt H. D. B. Sangma
DEO, South Garo Hills: Shri Chinmay P. Gotmare
DEO, South West Garo Hills: Shri Ram Singh

Contact information and Address

Office of The Chief Electoral Officer
Additional Secretariat, Room No 412
Meghalaya, Shillong
E-mail:[email protected]