Nitish Kumar|About Nitish Kumar|Personal Background of Nitish Kumar|PROFESSIONAL BACKGROUND OF NITISH KUMAr|NITISH POLITICAL JOURNEY|NITISH Kumar News

Nitish Kumar

Age 63
DOB Mar 1, 1951
Place of Birth Bakhtiarpur, Bihar
Religion Hindu
Education Qualifications B.Sc. (Engineering)
Spouse Name Late Smt. Manju Kumari Sinha.
Achievements The Bihar government under his leadership gave 50% electoral reservation to women and backward castes. He was recognized as the Best Chief Minister in 2007 by Hindustan Times and CNN-IBN In 2010 CNN-IBN honoured him with the Indian of the Year Award in Politics.

Nitish Kumar


About Nitish Kumar

Nitish Kumar is the present Chief Minister of Bihar since 2005. He is a senior Indian Politician and a member of Janta Dal Party. He was awarded many times for all his activities and achievements in processing and employing various fields such as bridge construction, road re-laying, crime rate controlling etc. He has also served as Union Minister of India. As shown in his career records, he has held some important positions like memberships in many committees both in the state and Parliament.

Personal Background of Nitish Kumar 

Nitish Kumar was born on March 01, 1951 in a town near Patna called Bakhtiyarpur. He is from a Kurmi family. His parents, Shri Kaviraj Ram Lakhan Singh, father of Nitish, had worked in ayurvedic medicine department, was a famous personality in the region. His mother’s name was Smt. Parameshwari Devi. He had a tribal home in his village called Kalyanbigha. He studied in Bakhiyarpur till matriculation. Later, he did Degree course in Mechanical Engineering from NIT Patna.
He got married to Smt. Manju Sinha, a teacher on February 22, 1973. They have a son named Nishant, who is a graduate from BIT Mesra. Nitish Kumar’s hobbies are reading books and watching films. He is also an abstainer and a non-smoker.

Professional Background of Nitish Kumar

Initially Nitish Kumar was working in the State Electricity Board after his Engineering Graduation. His father was a freedom fighter, who was a close pal of one of the founders of modern Bihar, Shri Anugrah Narayan Sinha, a great Nationalist leader. Nitish’s father Kaviraj had been a member of INC for a short period only as his candidature got withheld twice during 1952 and 1957 Lok Sabha Elections.

How Nitish entered politics 

Nitish attained political lessons from chivalrous leaders like Karpoori Thakur, Jayaprakash Narayan, George Fernandes, S N Sinha etc who had mastered him the art of politics. Later, Jayaprakash Narayan became an inspiration for Nitesh to take part in Narayan’s movement during the year 1974 to 1977 where he played a key role and thus entered into politics actively.


Nitish’s Political Journey till present 

Contested in the 1977 Assembly Elections as a member of Janata Party, which initiated his political journey.

Elected as a member of Bihar Legislative Assembly during the year 1985 till 1989.

Became Committee member on Petitions in the Bihar Legislative Assembly in the year 1986 till 1987.

Elected as President of Bihar’s Lok Dal from the year 1987 to 1988.

Also became Committee member on Public Undertakings in Bihar Legislative Assembly from 1987 to 1989.
Chosen as Secretary General of Janata Dal in 1989.

Got elected for the first time as 9th Lok Sabha member.

Became Union Minister of Bihar from April 1990 to November 1990, concentrating on Agriculture and Co-operation.
Got elected for the second time as 10th Lok Sabha member.

Served as Secretary General of Janata Dal from the year 1991 to 1993, also served as Parliament’s Deputy leader.

Served as Committee member on Railway Convention from 1991 to 1996.

Became Agricultural Committee’s Chairman from 1993 to 1996.

Third time, got elected as 11th Lok Sabha member in 1996.

Fourth time, got elected as 12th Lok Sabha member in 1998.

Served as Union Cabinet Minister for Railways and for Surface Transport from March 19, 1998 to August 5, 1999 and from April 14, 1998 to August 5, 1999 respectively.

Got elected as 13th Lok Sabha member in 1999, which was his fifth time as Lok Sabha member.

Served as Union Cabinet Minister for State Transport and for Agriculture from October 13, 1999 to November 22, 1999 and from November 22, 1999 to March 3, 2000 respectively.

Got appointed as Bihar’s Chief Minister for seven days from March 3, 2000 to March 10, 2000.

Held as Union Cabinet Minister for Agriculture from May 27, 2000 to March 20, 2001.

Held as Union Cabinet Minister for Agriculture as well as Railways gaining extra charge from March 20, 2001 to July 21, 2001.

Continued to be Union Cabinet Minister for Railways from July 22, 2001 to May 21, 2004.

Got elected as member of 14th Lok Sabha in 2004, which was his sixth time and became Janata Dal Party leader in Parliament where he acquired memberships in Privileges Committee, Joint Constitution Committee, Coal & Steel Committee and General Purpose Committee.

Appointed as Bihar Chief Minister from November 24, 2005 to November 24, 2010.

Continues as Chief Minister from November 26, 2010 till date.

Nitish’s Achievements and Efforts as Bihar Chief Minister :
Launched E-Shakti, an NREGS Program through which the people in rural area can gather employment information via telephone.

Significantly diminished the crime rate.

Under his leadership, motivated the government to start meals and bicycle programs which encouraged girls to join school. In turn, dropout rate of girls reduced in school.

Under his leadership, brought 50% electoral reservation for women and backward castes which was done for the first time in India.
Launched free distribution of medicines and related health schemes in rural hospitals.

Various loan schemes were set up for the farmers by National Banks.

Bihar got registered as the second highest GSDP growth in India.

Nitish’s Awards and honors :

Recognized as Best Chief Minister in 2007 by CNN-IBN and Hindustan Times.

Honored as Great Indian of the Year in Politics by CNN-IBN in the year 2008.

Rotary Internationals honored him with Polio Eradication Championship Award.

Recognized as Business Reformer of the Year by Economic Times in 2009.

Mentioned as Indian of the Year in Politics by NDTV in 2009.

Honored with Indian of the Year in Politics award by CNN-IBN in 2010.

Announced as India’s Person of the Year in 2010 by Forbes.

Mentioned as Indian of the Year in Politics by NDTV in 2010.

XLRI Jamshedpur honored him with “Sir Jahangir Gandhi Medal” in 2011.

In the year 2013, received accolades from Nagpur’s Manav Mandir with JP Memorial Award.

Ranked as 77 among the top 100 global thinkers by Foreign Policy Magazine.