Dumka Election Results 2014

Dumka General 2014 Election Results

This Table shows the winner and the runner-up Candidates of 2014 lok sabha election in Dumka.


Year Party Symbol status Candidate Name votes
2014 JMM Winner Shibu Soren 335815
2014 BJP Runner Up Sunil Soren 296785
Year Party Symbol status Candidate Name votes
2009 JMM Winner Soren,Shri Shibu 208518

This table shows the contesting BJP, Congress, independent etc. candidates from Dumka Constituency in Jharkhand General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2014.

List of Dumka constituency Candidates for 2014


Dumka , Constituency No -(2)
Election Date 24/04/2014
Result Date 16/05/2014
Election Symbol Party Candidate Name
BSP Sokol Hansda
AITC Babulal Soren
AAP Sahdeo Soren
BJP Sunil Soren
CPI Chhaya Kole
IND Umanath Kole
IND Joshil Murmu
IND Pulis Hembrom
IND Baghrai Soren
IND Shrilal Kisku
JMM Shibu Soren
JVM(P) Babu Lal Marandi
CPI(ML)(L) Bitiya Manjhi
JDP Stephen Besra


The Dumka constituency in the Indian state of Jharkhand is reserved for candidates of the Scheduled Tribes and among the 14 Lok Sabha constituencies. It is spread over the Jamtara District, as well as regions of the districts of Deoghar and Dumka. According to Election Commission of India 2009 reports the total electorates in the Parliamentary constituency of Dumka (constituency no. 2) were 1,128,361 of which 585,882 are males and 542,479 are females. Being a bastion of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha from the year 1989, the volatile Dumka holds significance politically in the country as Shibu Soren, one of the most successful CM of the State, has won from this constituency as Member of Parliament for 6 times consecutively since the year 1989.
Out of the 6 Assembly segments which form the Dumka Lok Sabha constituency, the Sikaripara, Dumka and Jama segments are reserved for candidates from the weaker marginalized sections of society. While the Sarath segment covers the District of Deoghar and the Jamtara and Nala legislative assembly segments are in the Jamtara District, the remaining 3 assembly segments spread across the district of Dumka. This Dumka constituency is economically backward, as the 3 districts have been regarded by the Government as economically dependent and are thus being funded by the Backward Regions Grant Fund (BRGF) programme.





List of winner/current and runner up MPs of Parliamentary Constituency of Dumka

This table represents the names winning and runner up MPs of Dumka parliamentary constituency.

Year PC No. PC Name Category winner/current MP Sex Party Vote Runner Up MP Sex Party Vote
2014 2 Dumka (ST) Shibu Soren M JMM 335815 Sunil Soren M BJP 296785
2009 2 Dumka (ST) Soren,Shri Shibu M JMM 208518 Sunil Soren M BJP 189706
2004 2 Dumka (ST) Shibu Soren M JMM 339542 Sone Lal Hembrom M BJP 224527
2002 Bye Pol Dumka (ST) Shibu Soren M JMM 256360 Ramesh Hembram M BJP 163535


Facts about Present MP of Dumka Constituency


Name of MP Shibu Soren
Age 70
Nature of Membership Elected
Term 18-May-14 to In office
Political Party Jharkhand Mukti Morcha
Gender Male
Educational Qualification Matric
Activities of Shibu Soren in 16th Lok Sabha
Debates participated 0
Private member bills passed 0
Questions asked 0
Attendance 7%


List of Assembly Constituencies in Dumka Parliamentary Constituency

This table shows the list of all Assembly Constituencies that fall in Dumka parliamentary constituency.


Names of Assembly ConstituenciesSikaripara (ST)JamtaraDumka (ST)NalaSarathJama (ST)