Khunti (Jharkhand) Assembly Constituency Elections


Khunti Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Situated in the district under the same name, the Khunti assembly constituency belongs to Lok Sabha constituency Khunti. The seat of MLA has been occupied by the BJP since 2005. Nilkanth Singh Munda, candidate of the BJP won the 2009 assembly elections for the 2ndconsecutive time. He was victorious over Masi Charan Munda of the JMM (Jharkhand Mukti Morcha). Nilkanth Singh Munda recieved 32067 votes over Masi Charan Munda’s 31631 votes. With a population of 124,388 people as per 2011 India Census, the city of Khunti is also the district headquarters. The constituency of Khunti is reserved for the people of Scheduled Tribes; the district was carved out of Ranchi district.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Khunti assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Khunti Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2009 60 Khunti (ST) Nilkanth Singh Munda M BJP 32067 Masi Charan Munda M JMM 31631
2005 60 Khunti (ST) Nilkanth Singh Munda M BJP 43663 Roshan Kumar Surin M INC 27963