Akhnoor (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Akhnoor Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Akhnoor which comes in Jammu district is an archaeological site situated on the foothills of Himalayas. The place is on the banks of Chenab River. The population of the place is 11,225 according to the census of 2011. The seat has been a Congress bastion for a long time and the present MLA of the constituency is Sham Lal Sharma. He won the seat with 31600 votes by defeating Govind Ram Sharma of BJP who had managed to get 17716 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Akhnoor assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Akhnoor Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 79 Akhnoor GEN Sham Lal Sharma M JKN 31600 Govind Ram Sharma M BJP 17716
2004 By Polls Akhnoor GEN Sham Lal Sharma M INC 17251 Govind Ram Sharma M IND 13675
2002 79 Akhnoor GEN Madan Lal Sharma M INC 17102 Govind Ram Sharma M JKN 16037
1996 79 Akhnoor GEN Govind Ram M JKN 8855 Ram Saroop M BJP 8583
1987 65 Akhnoor GEN Gobind Ram M IND 19642 Dharam Pal M INC 9202
1983 65 Akhnoor GEN Dharam Pal M INC 13067 Gavind Ram M JKN 9527
1977 65 Akhnoor GEN Dharam Pal M INC 8635 Gobind Ram M IND 4517
1972 69 Akhnoor GEN Dharm Paul M INC 16364 Bakshi Thakur Das M BJS 3577
1967 69 Akhnoor GEN D. Pal M INC 11267 K. Lal M BJS 3322
1962 1 Akhnoor (SC) Shiv Ram M NC 10156 Sat Dev M PP 5204