Pampore (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Pampore Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The town of Pampore is situated in the Pulwama district of Jammu & Kashmir. The region is also known as saffron town as it is popular for cultivating of saffron. According to the 2001 India census, the town had a population of 46,595 people. The Pampore assembly constituency is a part of parliamentary constituency of Anantnag. The constituency witnessed 3 assembly elections in the duration of 6 years. Abdul Aziz, candidate of PDP won the assembly elections of 2002 but was assassinated 2 months later. The by-elections were held in 2003 in which Zahoor Ahmad Mir, also of PDP came out victorious. He won the assembly elections of 2008 for the 2nd consecutive time and is the current MLA. He was victorious over Mohd Anwar Bhat of INC. Mir received 11117 votes over Bhat’s 5969 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Pampore assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Pampore Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 32 Pampore GEN Zahoor Ahmad M JKN 11117 Mohd Anwar Bhat M INC 5969
2003 By Polls Pampore GEN Zahoor Ahmad Mir M PDP 14317 Mushtaq Ahmad M NC 1535
2002 32 Pampore GEN Ab.Aziz Mir M PDP 3811 Mohd Anwar Bhat M INC 3106
1996 32 Pampore GEN Mushtaq Ahmad M JKN 18112 Mohd. Anwar M INC 6162
1987 29 Pampore GEN Ghulam Mohi Ud Din M JKN 22186 Ali Mohd. Lone M IND 15383
1983 29 Pampore GEN Mohd. Sultan M JKN 21672 Peerzada Gh. Jeelani M INC 5136
1977 29 Pampore GEN Malik Mohi Ud Din M JKN 22877 Peer Ghulam Hassan Masoodi M JNP 2409
1972 30 Pampore GEN Gulam Hassan Mansooda M INC 9269 Pirzada Ghulam Jeelani M IND 5868
1967 30 Pampore GEN P. M. Shah M INC 5271 A. A. Dar M IND 2855
1962 42 Pampore GEN Peerzada Ghulam Jeelani M NC Uncontested