Basohli (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Basohli Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Basohli which comes in Jammu and Kashmir is a town in Kathua and is situated on the bank of Ravi river. The place is famous for its Basohli paintings. The population of the constituency is 5865 according to the census of 2001. The constituency falls under Udhampur parliamentary constituency and is an INC bastion. The present MLA of the constituency is Jagdish Raj Sapolia a BJP candidate who won the seat with 16651 votes by defeating Davinder Singh.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Basohli assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Basohli Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 64 Basohli GEN Jagdish Raj Sapolia M JKN 16651 Davinder Singh M JKN 13770
2004 By Polls Basohli GEN Kanta Andotra F INC 18759 Jagdish Raj Spolia M BJP 14980
2002 64 Basohli GEN Lal Singh M INC 18916 Jagdish Raj Sapolia M BJP 15248
1996 64 Basohli GEN Lal Singh M AIIC(T) 12140 Jagdish Raj S/O Tula Ram M INC 7912
1987 67 Basohli (SC) Jagdish Rajspolia M INC 11322 Lal Chand M IND 10054
1983 67 Basohli GEN Mangat Ram M INC 14019 Darshan Kumar Sharma M JKN 8939
1977 67 Basohli GEN Mangat Ram M INC 4829 Uttam Chand M IND 3885
1972 56 Basohli GEN Mangat Ram M INC 9482 Baldev Singh M BJS 5871
1967 56 Basohli GEN M. Ram M INC 7805 U. Chand M BJS 4073
1962 9 Basohli GEN Mahant Ram Sharma M NC 7394 Uttam Chand M PP 4459