Samba (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Samba Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The city Samba comes under the district with the same name. It got its name from Samby Rajput clan. There are 44,562 people in the constituency according to the census of 2011. The place falls under Jammu parliamentary constituency and is reserved for the Scheduled Caste candidate. The present MLA of the constituency is Yash Paul Kundal the JKNPP leader who won the seat with 14631 seats by defeating Satwant Kour of BJP.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Samba assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Samba Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 68 Samba (SC) Yash Paul Kundal M JKN 14631 Satwant Kour F BJP 12642
2002 68 Samba (SC) Yash Paul M JKNPP 11079 Swarn Lata F INC 10333
1996 68 Samba (SC) Som Nath M BSP 14107 Swaran Lata F INC 8090
1987 56 Samba GEN Parkash Sharma M INC 10318 Hoshiar Singh M IND 7407
1983 56 Samba GEN Parkash Sharma M INC 13515 Surjeet Singh M JKN 6400
1977 56 Samba GEN Dhayan Singh M IND 6349 Harbans Singh M INC 4728
1972 60 Samba (SC) Gouri Shankar M INC 9700 Gian Chand M BJS 5882
1967 60 Samba (SC) P. Nand M INC 8349 G. Chand M BJS 5156
1962 13 Samba GEN K. Sagar Singh M NC 7495 Dhyan Singh M PP 6727