Poonch Haveli (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Poonch-Haveli Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The Poonch Haveli assembly constituency is situated on the LOC (line of control). The Poonch Haveli constituency had by-elections in 2007. The seat of MLA was left vacant after the demise of Ghulam Mohd Jan, the 2 time victor from the constituency. Jahangir Hussain, candidate of INC won the by-elections. The constituency belongs to Poonch district and region of parliamentary constituency of Jammu, again stood in the polls of 2008. But Ajaz Ahmed Jan of JKNC bested Jan, the INC candidate and received 28297 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Poonch Haveli assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Poonch Haveli Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A. C. No. Assembly Constituency Name Category Winner Candidates Name Sex Party Votes Runner UP Sex Party Votes
2008 87 Poonch Haveli GEN Ajaz Ahmed Jan M JKN 28297 Ch. Bashir Ahmed Naaz M INC 18364
2007 By Polls Poonch Haveli GEN Jahangir Hussain M INC 20697 Yash Paul Sharma M IND 16299
2002 87 Poonch Haveli GEN Ghulam Mohd Jan M JKN 27364 Yeshpal Sharma M INC 26718
1996 87 Poonch Haveli GEN Ghulam Mohd. Jan M JKN 16150 Yashpal Sharma M JD 10722
1972 75 Poonch GEN Mir Ghulam Mohd M INC 10706 Ghulam Ahmed M IND 3117
1967 75 Poonch GEN M. G. Mohamad M INC 10935 S. R. Nath M BJS 3145
1962 20 Poonch GEN Gulam Ahmed M NC 15148 Ghulam Qadir Bandey M IND 5819