pahalgam (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Pahalgam Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The famous tourist destination of Pahalgam is situated in the Anantnag district of Jammu & Kashmir. As of 2001 India census, it had a population of 5922 people. The Pahalgam assembly constituency belongs to parliamentary constituency of Anantnag.The seat of MLA has been occupied by the PDP since 2002. In the by-elections of 2002, it was for the 1st time in the past 15 years of militancy that CM Mufti Mohammad Sayeed stood as a contender in the assembly elections. He was victorious in the elections as the PDP candidate. Rafi Ahmad Mir of PDP won the assembly elections of 2008 and is the current MLA. He bested Altaf Ahmad Wani of JKNC. Mir secured 24316 votes over Wani’s 13394 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of pahalgam assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of pahalgam Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 46 Pahalgam GEN Rafi Ahmad Mir M JKN 24316 Altaf Ahmad Wani M JKN 13394
2004 By Polls Pahalgam GEN Mufti Mohammad Sayeed M JKPDP 9056 Rafi Ahmad Mir M JKN 3882
2002 46 Pahalgam GEN Mehbooba Mufti F PDP 8544 Rafi Ah. Mir M JKN 6405
1996 46 Pahalgam GEN Ab. Kabir Bhat M JKN 13749 Gulshan Akhter F INC 4078
1987 37 Pahalgam GEN Rafi Ahmad Mir M JKN 16257 Ghulam Nabi Hagroo M IND 13476
1983 37 Pahalgam GEN Piyare Lal Handoo M JKN 15654 Mohamad Tahir M INC 9995
1977 37 Pahalgam GEN Piyaree Lal Handoo M JKN 14764 Ghulam Rasool Kochah M JNP 4283
1972 37 Pahalgam GEN Makhan Lal Fotedar M INC 16628 Hami Ullah M IND 4520
1967 37 Pahalgam GEN M. Lal M INC Uncontested