sonawar (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Sonawar Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Sonawar which is part of the Srinagar parliamentary constituency is one of the 87 constituencies of J&K. With the assembly elections of 2008, Farooq Abdullah became the MLA of the constituency. later he resigned from the post when he was elected as the member of Rajya Sabha. The bypolls which were conducted after that saw Yasin Shah become the winner with 9306 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of sonawar assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of sonawar Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2009 By Polls Sonawar GEN Md.Yasin Shah M JKNC 9306 Md. Ashraf Mir M JKPDP 9256
2008 24 Sonawar GEN Farooq Abdullah M JKN 7018 Sheikh Ghulam Qadir Pardesi M JKPDP 6924
2002 24 Sonawar GEN Mohd. Yaseen Shah M JKN 3445 Gh. Hussain Wani M PDP 1740
1996 24 Sonawar GEN Ghulam Mohd. Bawan M JKN 9873 Bashir Ahmad Kuthoo M JD 3137