Handwara (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Handwara Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The town of Handwara falls under district of Kupwara of Jammu & Kashmir. The region is famous for its talented cricketers. The Handwara assembly constituency belongs to parliamentary constituency of Baramulla. Sofi Ghulam Mohi-ud-Din won the 2002 assembly elections by securing 15,389 votes. He was victorious over candidate of NC, Choudhary Mohammad Ramzan. However, Ramzan won the assembly elections of 2008 and is the current MLA. He received 27907 over Sofi Ghulam Mohi-ud-Din who received 16317 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Handwara assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Handwara Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 4 Handwara GEN Chowdary Mohd Ramzan M JKN 27907 Gh Mohi-Ud-Din Sofi M IND 16317
2002 4 Handwara GEN Gh.Mohi-Ud-Din Sofi M IND 15389 Chowdry Mohd Ramzan M JKN 12392
1996 4 Handwara GEN Mohd. Ramzan Chowdry M JKN 10937 Ali Mohd. Dar M INC 3017
1987 2 Handwara GEN Chowdry Mohamad Ramzan M JKN 20423 Abdul-Gani-Lone M JKP 19093
1983 2 Handwara GEN Chowdry Mohmad Ramzan M JKN 17575 Abdul Gani Lone M JKP 17565
1977 2 Handwara GEN Abdul Gani Lone M JNP 17021 Sharif Ud Din M JKN 14702
1972 5 Handwara GEN Abdul Gani Lone M INC 24291 Sharif Ud Din M IND 3183
1967 5 Handwara GEN A. G. Lone M INC Uncontested
1962 68 Handwara GEN Abdul Gani Mir M IND 11429 Ghulam Qadir Massala M NC 7422