Kulgam (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Kulgam Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The small town of Kulgam is situated in the district under the same name in Jammu & Kashmir. The word Kulgam is formed by combining 2 words, “kul” which means clan and “gram” which means village. The town of Kulgam is famous after the religious saint, Sayed Simnan Sahib. The region is famous for the rice production. The Kulgam assembly constituency belongs to parliamentary constituency of Anantnag. The seat of MLA has been occupied by CPI(M) since 1996. Mohmad Yousuf Rather, candidate of CPI(M) won the assembly elections of 2008 and is the current MLA. He was victrious over Nazir Ahmad Laway of PDP. Rather received 17175 votes over Laway’s 16939 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Kulgam assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Kulgam Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 38 Kulgam GEN Mohmad Yousuf Rather M JKN 17175 Nazir Ahmad Laway M JKPDP 16939
2002 38 Kulgam GEN Mohd. Yousf Tarigami M CPM 8346 Gh. Nabi Dar M JKN 3461
1996 38 Kulgam GEN Mohd. Yousuf M CPM 21837 Habibullah Laway M JD 5671
1987 35 Kulgam GEN Haji Abdul Pazak Mir M IND 15607 Ghulam Nabi Dar M JKN 12031
1983 35 Kulgam GEN Gh. Nabi Dar M JKN 9723 Sheikh Ghulam Hassan M JMI 6843
1977 35 Kulgam GEN Ghulam Nabi Dar M JKN 8833 Abdul Razak Mir M JMI 6403
1972 35 Kulgam GEN Ab. Razak Mir M JMI 8137 Habibulla Lawi M IND 7094
1967 35 Kulgam GEN M. Y. Bhat M INC Uncontested
1962 38 Kulgam GEN Mohd. Yaqub Bhat M NC Uncontested