Pulwama (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Pulwama Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The town of Pulwana is situated in the district under the same name in Jammu & Kashmir. The region was previously known as Panwangam. The place is called the ‘Anand of Kashmir’ for its high production of milk. As of 2001 India census, it had a population of 15,521 people. The Pulwana assembly constituency is a part of parliamentary constituency of Anantnag. Mohd Khalil Bandh, candidate of PDP won the assembly elections of 2008 for the 2nd consecutive time. He was victorious over Haji Sona Ullah Dar, an independent candidate by a huge margin. Bandh received 10639 votes over Dar’s 4003 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Pulwama assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Pulwama Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 33 Pulwama GEN Mohd Khalil Bandh M JKN 10639 Haji Sona Ullah Dar M IND 4003
2002 33 Pulwama GEN Mohamad Khalil Band M PDP 5209 Bashir Ahmad Nengroo M JKN 2782
1996 33 Pulwama GEN Bashir Ahmad Nengroo M JKN 12030 Syed Bashir Ahmad M JD 7398
1987 28 Pulwama GEN Bashir Ahmed Nengroo M JKN 23297 Mushtaq Ahmed M IND 14910
1983 28 Pulwama GEN Sana Ullah Dar M JKN 15707 Mohd. Ayub M INC 5189
1977 28 Pulwama GEN Mohammad Ibrahim Dar M JKN 18712 Abdul Kashid Wani M JMI 2537
1972 29 Pulwama GEN Sona Ullah Dar M INC 10002 Ghulam Hassan Mir M IND 4978
1967 29 Pulwama GEN M. Sonaullah M INC Uncontested
1962 43 Pulwama GEN Master Sanaullah Sheikh M NC Uncontested