Kathua (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Kathua Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The city of Kathua is situated in the district by the same name of Jammu & Kashmir. Kathua gets its derivation from the Dogri word ‘Thuan’ which means ‘Scorpions’. Due to huge count of Sufi shrines, the city of Kathua is also called to as ‘the city of Sufis’. As of 2011 census, it had a population of 1, 62,988 people. The Kathua assembly constituency is a part of parliamentary constituency of Udhampur. Charanjit Singh, an independent candidate was victorious in the 2008 assembly elections and is the current MLA. He bested Som Raj of BSP and received 19123 votes over Raj’s 16761 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Kathua assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Kathua Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 65 Kathua GEN Charanjit Singh M JKN 19123 Som Raj M BSP 16761
2002 65 Kathua GEN Jatinder Singh M DM 16366 Sagar Chand M BSP 13307
1996 65 Kathua GEN Sagar Chand M BSP 12130 Lal Chand Sharma M IND 11001
1987 69 Kathua (SC) Om Parkash M INC 16805 Kulbhushan Kumar M BJP 10175
1983 69 Kathua (SC) Sanji Ram M INC 14667 Baldev Raj M BJP 5905
1977 69 Kathua (SC) Dhain Chand M JNP 10022 Punjabu Ram Alias Punjab Singh M INC 9023
1972 58 Kathua (SC) Panjaboo Ram Alias Singh M INC 11539 Ved Prakash M IND 9155
1967 58 Kathua (SC) P. Ram M INC 10598 K. Chand M BJS 6176
1962 11 Kathua GEN Randhir Singh M NC 9826 Chagar Singh M PP 4642