Jammu East (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Jammu East Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The city of Jammu is the largest city of the Jammu district. Its founder was Raja Jambulochan and the city of Jammu got its name from him and is known as the winter capital of the State. The Jammu East assembly constituency belongs to parliamentary constituency of Jammu. Ashok Kumar Khajuria, a BJP candidate came out victorious in the 2008 assembly elections. He was victorious over Narender Singh of the INC. Khajuria bagged 15907 votes over Singh’s 5480 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Jammu East assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Jammu East Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 72 Jammu East GEN Ashok Kumar Khajuria M JKN 15907 Narender Singh M INC 5480
2002 72 Jammu East GEN Yogesh Kumar Sawhney M INC 11784 Ashok Kumar M BJP 8448
1998 By Polls Jammu East GEN Ashok Kumar M AGP 13164 Ved Kumar M INC 6967
1996 72 Jammu East GEN Vaid Vishno Dutt M BJP 19047 Raman Bhalla M INC 6546
1987 62 Jammu East GEN Chaman Lal M BJP 13930 Ved Parkash M INC 10697
1983 62 Jammu East GEN Om Parkash M INC 14262 Chaman Lal M BJP 7619
1977 62 Jammu East GEN Ram Nath Bhalgotra M JNP 13179 Amrit Kumar Malhotra M INC 5141