Shangus (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Shangus Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Shangus belongs to the Anantnag district and is a part of the parliamentary constituency with the same name. The present MLA of the constituency is Peerzada Mansoor Hussain who won the seat by defeating Gulzar Ahmad Wani of INC with 13853 votes. Hussain accussed the government for not giving importance to issues related to administrative units.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Shangus assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Shangus Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A. C. No. Assembly Constituency Name Category Winner Candidates Name Sex Party Votes Runner UP Sex Party Votes
2008 44 Shangus GEN Peerzada Mansoor Hussain M JKN 13853 Gulzar Ahmad Wani M INC 12423
2002 44 Shangus GEN Peer Mohd. Hussain M PDP 5115 Gulzar Ahamad M INC 4774
1996 44 Shangus GEN Abdul Majeed M JKN 10703 Gowhar Maqbool M JD 9710
1987 40 Shawngas GEN Abdul Rashid Dar M JKN 14283 Jamseed Ghulam Mohd M IND 8237
1983 40 Shawngas GEN Mohd. Maqbool M INC 14403 Mohd, Ashraf Khan M JKN 13042
1977 40 Shawngas GEN Mohd. Ashraf Khan M JKN 15568 Mohamad Maqbool M INC 4162