Banihal (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Banihal Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

Banihal which comes in Ramban district is a small town with a population of 2,729 according to the census of 2001. It is part of the Udhampur parliamentary constituency. Independent candidates won the seat in last two elections but in 2008, INC candidate Vikar Rasool Wani won the seat with 8287 votes by defeating Showkat Javeed Daing with 5254 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Banihal assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Banihal Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 56 Banihal GEN Vikar Rasool Wani M JKN 8287 Showkat Javeed Daing M IND 5254
2002 56 Banihal GEN Molvi Abdul Rashid M IND 11393 Mohd. Farooq Mir M JKN 4719
1996 56 Banihal GEN Mohd. Farooq Mir M IND 10925 Molvi Abdul Rashid M JKN 7778
1987 50 Banihal GEN Molvi Abdul Rashid M JKN 13949 Mohd. Akhter Nizam M IND 6056
1983 50 Banihal GEN Abdul Rashid M JKN 15046 Sona Ullah M INC 6821
1977 50 Banihal GEN Molvi Abdul Rashid M JKN 7460 Modh. Akthar Nizami M INC 3290
1972 50 Banihal GEN Hajra Begum F INC Uncontested
1967 50 Banihal GEN M. Akhtar M JKN 7570 Assad-Ullah M INC 6391