Khanyar (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Khanyar Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The town of Khanyar is situated in the Srinagar district of Jammu & Kashmir. The Khanyar assembly constituency belongs to parliamentary constituency of Srinagar. The constituency comprises of regions of, Nowhatta, Khawaja Bazar, Rainawari, Khanyar and Nowpora. The seat of MLA is the bastion of JKNC which won 7 assembly elections since 1957. Ali Mohammad Sagar, candidate of JKNC won the 2008 assembly elections for the 3rd consecutive time. He was victorious over Showkat Ahmad Hafiz of PDP by a very huge margin. Sagar received 6313 votes over Hafiz’s 806 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Khanyar assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Khanyar Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 21 Khanyar GEN Ali Mohammad Sagar M JKN 6313 Showkat Ahmad Hafiz M JKPDP 806
2002 21 Khanyar GEN Ali Mohd. Sagar M JKN 2868 Mushtaq Ahmad M INC 127
1996 21 Khanyar GEN Ali Mohammed Sagar M JKN 6194 Nazir Ahmed M JD 607
1972 19 Khanyar GEN Saif Ud Din Qari M JMI 9530 Gazy Abdul Rahman M IND 2176
1967 19 Khanyar GEN G. Ahmed M INC 2656 G. A. R. Bhat M JKN 2595
1962 49 Khanyar Srinagar City GEN Gazi Abdul Rehman M NC 12762 Baha Ud Din M DNC 533