Kupwara (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Kupwara Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The city of Hazratbal is situated in the Srinagar district. The well known Hazratbal shrine is situated in this region. The Hazratbal assembly constituency is among the Srinagar parliamentary constituency. The seat of MLA has been acquired by JKNC since 1977. In 2009 by-elections were held because Dr Abdullah, winner of the 2 assembly seats of Hazratbal and Sonawar in assembly elections of 2008 later won the Lok Sabha elections left the Hazratbal seat. In the 2009 by-elections JKNC managed to retain its bastion. S. M. Kamal won the elections by being victorious over Asiea of PDP. Kamal bagged 8555 votes over Asiea who received 7003 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Kupwara assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Kupwara Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 2 Kupwara GEN Mir Saifullah M JKN 16696 Fayaz Ahmad Mir M JKPDP 11514
2002 2 Kupwara GEN Mir Saifullah M JKN 19233 Gh.Qadir Mir M IND 19101
1996 2 Kupwara GEN Saifullah Mir M JKN 5766 Ch. Salam-Ud-Din M INC 4755
1987 4 Kupwara GEN Mushtaq Ahmed Lone M JKN 12585 Abdul Haq Khan M JKP 10806
1983 4 Kupwara GEN Peer Abdul Gani M JKN 13119 Abdul Haq M JKP 6046
1977 4 Kupwara GEN Assad Ullah Shah M JKN 13780 Ghulam Nabi M JNP 4834
1972 2 Kupwara GEN Ghulam Mohd. Shah M INC 10988 Mohd. Sultan Tantrey M IND 2331
1967 2 Kupwara GEN M. S. Tantray M INC Uncontested