Langate (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Langate Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The region of Langate is situated in the Kupwara district of Jammu & Kashmir. The Langate assembly constituency belongs to Lok Sabha constituency of Baramulla. Sharief-ud-Din Shariq, candidate of the NC won the 2002 assembly elections by besting Sultan Panditpuri, candidate of PDP.The seat of MLA was again occupied by Ab Rashid Sheikh, an NC candidate in assembly elections of 2008. He was victorious over Mohd Sultan Pandithpori of PDP. Sheikh received 7964 votes over Pandithpori’s 7754 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Langate assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Langate Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 5 Langate GEN Ab Rashid Sheikh M JKN 7964 Mohd Sultan Pandithpori M JKPDP 7754
2002 5 Langate GEN Sharief-Ud-Din Shariq M JKN 8058 M. Sultan Pandithpori M PDP 5658
1999 By Polls Langate GEN Mohd. Sultan Pandit M AGP 4537 Bashir Ahmad Wani M JKN 4465
1996 5 Langate GEN Ab. Ahad Wanie M JKN 9734 Gulam Mohi-Ud-Din War M INC 2886
1987 3 Langate GEN Abdul Ahad Wani M JKN 10676 Ghulam Quadir Lone M IND 9371
1983 3 Langate GEN Abdul Ahad Wani M JKN 10954 Ghulam Nabi M JKP 4637
1977 3 Langate GEN Mohammad Sultan Ganai M JKN 11976 Abdul Gani Mir M IND 3657