Nowshera (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections


Nowshera Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The town of Nowshera or Naushera is situated in the Rajauri district of Jammu & Kashmir. As of 2011 India census, it had a population of 8,435. The Nowshehra assembly constituency belongs to parliamentary constituency of Jammu. The seat of MLA is the bastion of INC and the party won all assembly polls until 2002. The results of assembly elections of 2008 were shocking. Radhay Sham Sharma of JKNC won the assembly elections of 2008 and is the present MLA. He was victorious over Dr. Romesh Chander Sharma of INC. Radhay Sham Sharma received 16511 votes over Romesh Chander Sharma’s 12691 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Nowshera assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Nowshera Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 81 Nowshera GEN Radhay Sham Sharma M JKN 16511 Dr. Romesh Chander Sharma M INC 12691
2002 81 Nowshera GEN Romesh Chander M INC 20511 Radhey Sham Sharma M JKN 16037
1996 81 Nowshera GEN Radhay Sham Sharma M INC 20238 Rattan Singh M JKN 10702
1987 71 Nowshera GEN Beli Ram M INC 24053 Balwant Singh M IND 5808
1983 71 Nowshera GEN Beli Ram M INC 10395 Rachpal Singh M JKN 7202
1977 71 Nowshera GEN Beli Ram M INC 7832 Rattan Singh M IND 7416
1972 71 Nowshera GEN Beli Ram M INC 8563 Nand Kumar M IND 8512
1967 71 Nowshera GEN B. Ram M INC 6454 N. Kumar M PSP 5060
1962 16 Nowshera GEN Beli Ram M NC 11608 Krishan Dev Sethi M DNC 4939