Pattan (Jammu And Kashmir) Assembly Constituency Elections

Pattan Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Constituency

The small town of Pattan is situated in the state of Jammu & Kashmir. The region is classified as one of the historical hotspots of the State. As of 2001 India census, it had a population of 11,409 people. The Pattan assembly constituency belongs to parliamentary constituency of Baramulla. Moulvi Iftikhar Hussain Ansari, candidate of PDP won the 2008 assembly elections and is the current MLA from the constituency. Earlier also he won 3 times from the constituency in 1983 (INC), 1996 (INC) and 2002 (NC). In the assembly elections of 2008, he was victorious over Abdul Rashid Shaheen of JKNC by a huge margin. Ansari received 20703 votes over Shaheen’s 9432 votes.


List of Sitting and Previous MLAs of Pattan assembly constituency

Below Here year-wise list of MLAs of Pattan Assembly Constituency with their party name :

Year A C No. Constituency Name Category Winner Sex Party Votes Runner Up Sex Party Votes
2008 15 Pattan GEN Iftikhar Hussain Ansari M JKN 20703 Abdul Rashid Shaheen M JKN 9432
2006 By Polls Pattan GEN Sheikh Mustafa Kamal M JKNC 26736 Iftikhar Hussain Ansari M JKPDP 23969
2002 15 Pattan GEN Molvi Ifthikar Hussain Ansari M JKN 15268 Dr.Abdul Ahad Yatoo M INC 13084
1996 15 Pattan GEN Iftikhar Hussain Ansari M INC 18868 Abdul Rashid Shaheen M JD 10540
1987 7 Pattan GEN Aga Syed Mehmood M JKN 16871 Moulvi Mustafa Hussain M IND 9291
1983 7 Pattan GEN Molvi Iftikhar Hussain M INC 11761 Abdul Aziz Parrey M JKN 10904
1977 7 Pattan GEN Abdul Rashid Shaheen M JKN 15738 Molvlftikhar Hussain Ansari M JNP 12734
1972 10 Pattan GEN Gulam Qadir Bhdar M INC 15002 Yousuf Shah M IND 2508
1967 10 Pattan GEN G. R. Dar M JKN 7764 G. Q. B. Bedar M INC 5881
1962 63 Pattan GEN Ghulam Mohammad Bhat Zalib M NC Uncontested